Christina Gurka

2nd Grade

Seele Elementary

My name is Christina Gurka and I am so excited to be your child's 2nd grade teacher this year!  

This is my 22nd year teaching (yikes, that number keeps going up).  I have taught in Chicago, San Antonio, & New Braunfels.  I have a Bachelors Degree in Elementary Education from Southeast Missouri State University and a Masters Degree in Special Education from Lewis University.  I am certified to teach Kinder through 4th, ESL, and Special Education.  

I taught special education for 4 years in Chicago before moving to Texas.  In Texas, I  taught at the same school in North East ISD in San Antonio for 13 years.  I taught special ed in all grade levels for 12 years, kindergarten for 4 years, and second grade for 6 years.  

I was born and raised in Chicago (actually the suburb, Elk Grove Village) where I met my husband, got married, and moved down to San Antonio.  I moved to Texas 18 years ago, so I’m pretty much a Texan now.  My family quickly followed and now my parents live across the street from me!  

I am a HUGE sports fan (Cubs, Bears, Spurs, Unicorns).  I have been married for 18 years and have 2 girls (Mackenzie is 13 and Kyleigh is 11).  They unfortunately are not Unicorns because I live in Schertz.  As you can see, Pineapples are my thing.  I started this decor when I came to Seele and it has become HUGE.  But I love it!  I'm also a huge dog lover. I have 3 dogs named Santo, Ivy, & Rizzy (all Cubs themed names).  My latest love is Baby Yoda.  Haha.  I absolutely LOVE being a teacher & couldn’t imagine doing anything else. 

I'm so excited to be teaching 2nd grade again this year.


 

Email: cgurka@nbisd.org

Seele Phone Number: 830-627-6750

Classroom Number: 830-627-6776 (I won't answer this during the school day but you can leave a message and I'll get back to you as soon as possible)

Mrs. Gurka’s 2nd Grade 2021-22

 

7:25: Pick up students from Cafeteria

7:35-7:40: Unpack & Announcements

7:40-7:50: Circle Time

7:50-9:20: Math 

7:50-8:00: Number Talks, Fluency, & Quick Write

8:00-8:40:: Math Lesson

8:40-9:20: Math Workstations

9:20-10:05: Specials 

10:05-11:50: Reading Block 

10:05-10:35: Fundations

10:35-10:50: Reading Mini Lesson

10:50-11:50: Guided Reading Groups / Daily 5

11:50-12:20: Lunch

12:20-12:40: Recess

12:40-1:00: Read Aloud/ Read to Self / Classroom Circles

1:00-1:55: Continue Guided Reading if needed/ Writing

1:55-2:55: Science / Social Studies

2:55-3:05: Prepare for Dismissal (Write in Take Home Folders)

3:05: Dismissal



Some of these websites also have their own apps for phones/tablets.  Also, some require a parent to sign up for free to access the site/app.

Epic Books .    https://www.getepic.com/app/sign-in

BrainPop Jr .  https://jr.brainpop.com/

Mystery Doug Videos    https://mysterydoug.com/mysteries/world-population#slide-id-5205

FunBrain    https://www.funbrain.com/grade/2

ABCYa .    https://www.abcya.com/

PBS Kids .   https://pbskids.org/games/

IXL (Math Practice) .  https://www.ixl.com/

Education.com Free Games .   https://www.education.com/games/second-grade/

Story Bird .   https://storybird.com/

Math Games .   https://www.mathgames.com/grade2

How Stuff Works .  https://www.howstuffworks.com/

Science Bob .  https://sciencebob.com/

Math Playground .   https://www.mathplayground.com/grade_2_games.html

Hooda Math Games .   https://www.hoodamath.com/games/second-grade.html

Wonderopolis .   https://www.wonderopolis.org/

E-Learning .  https://en.e-learningforkids.org/math/grade/2/

Jump Start Learning .  http://www.jumpstart.com/parents/activities/grade-based-activities/2nd-grade-activities

Splash Math .  https://www.splashmath.com/math-games-for-2nd-graders

Press ENTER key to focus on the active panel

Copyright © 2022 - New Braunfels ISD

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM